‘Soul’ Wins BAFTA Award For Best Original Score

Soul is the third three-way collaboration to win a BAFTA. It follows Romeo + Juliet (1997/Nellee Hooper, Craig Armstrong and Marius de Vries) and A Star Is Born (2018/Bradley Cooper, Lady Gaga and Lukas Nelson). Neither of those song scores were eligible for Oscars.

Earlier in the day, Soul won the BAFTA for animated film. The movie is also nominated for an Oscar for best original score. The 93rd annual Academy Awards will be presented on April 25.

The BAFTA and Oscar slates of nominated scores were nearly the same this year. Both fields included, in addition to Soul, Mank (also by Reznor and Ross), Minari (Emile Mosseri) and News of the World (James Newton Howard). Promising Young Woman (Anthony Williams) rounded out the BAFTA field. Da 5 Bloods (Terence Blanchard) rounded out the Oscar field.

Soul is vying to become the 21st score to win both a BAFTA and an Oscar. The BAFTAs added a score category in 1968 – 34 years after the Oscars added one.

The number of scores that have won both awards has increased in recent years. Seven films from the 2010s won both awards, as many as in the two previous decades combined. Just one score from the 1980s won both awards. This uptick may in part reflect the Oscars’ recent move to become more global in scope; and specifically to add more internationally-based members.

John Williams scored four of these dual Oscar/Brit winners. Alexandre Desplat scored two.

Here is a complete list of the 20 scores that have won both awards. The years shown are the Oscar years of record.

1968: The Lion in Winter, John Barry

1969: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Burt Bacharach

1971: Summer of ’42: Michel Legrand

1975: Jaws, John Williams (this won the BAFTA in tandem with another Williams score, The Towering Inferno, which was Oscar-nominated the previous year).

1977: Star Wars, Williams

1982: E.T. The Extra Terrestrial, Williams

1993: Schindler’s List, Williams

1995: The Postman (Il Postino), Luis Enriquez Bacalov

1996: The English Patient, Gabriel Yared

2000: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Tan Dun

2006: Babel, Gustavo Santolalla

2008: Slumdog Millionaire, A.R. Rahman

2009: Up, Michael Giacchino

2011: The Artist, Ludovic Bource

2013: Gravity, Steven Price

2014: The Grand Budapest Hotel, Alexandre Desplat

2015: The Hateful Eight, Ennio Morricone

2016: La La Land, Justin Hurwitz

2017: The Shape of Water, Desplat

2019: Joker, Hildur Guðnadóttir

Source: News | Billboard

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Related Post


Sign up for Breaking News, Newsletter, Blog Posts and Special Deals from 1631 Digital and their media/marketing partners.

Subscribers agree to be contacted from 1631 Digital News and/or their media/marketing partners for breaking news alerts, newsletters and special media marketing offers via email, mail and/or texting communication.